Breakwater in Rompeolas (Rimpulas)


Breakwater or Reclamation?

During one of my visits last December 2009 in Rimpulas, I saw this lengthy breakwater almost at the end of the bay walk. I can’t remember if it was already there back in 2008. I am curious if it’s really a breakwater since the tide in Sorsogon Bay is not that strong unless there’s a typhoon. Furthermore, I am not confident it’s there to protect the residents near the shore.

Since 5 years ago, I’ve been hearing a plan of the province to reclaim the area beside the pier and also develop the Pinaculan Island. And if I remember the stories from my old man, it starts with a structure just like this breakwater to move the shore line further; from hereon, filling materials can be dumped.

In any case, I find it an eyesore. I guess breakwater reminds me of yachts (like in Manila Yacht Club) or huge ships on the background.

This entry was posted in City Sights, Economy and Business, Government, Infrastructure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Breakwater in Rompeolas (Rimpulas)

  1. Pingback: Exploring Sorsogon – Rompeolas (Part 2) | Sorsogon City

Leave a comment