Do You Still Remember Acacia Grill?


In the late 80s or early 90s, the food scene in the former town of Sorsogon rarely changed. We had the Jane’s Restaurant in Plasa, Mike And Gerry Restaurant (now Burgos One) along Rizal Street and Kristina’s Pizza Parlor along Magsaysay Street, near Garcia Street. Only Jane’s Restaurant survived the test of time.

Around the mid-90s, a new restaurant showed up – Acacia Grill. Do not confuse it with Mango Grill that was along Magsaysay Street. Acacia Grill was considered formal dining resto back then. It served its water in a goblet – kaya sosyal. The tables were covered with expensive looking table cloth. The servers were not wearing casual clothes but a uniform; they looked very professional. It was also airconditioned.

The dilapidated building of the former Acacia Grill of the 90s. It was considered a fine dining resto.

I don’t think we would come here often. I think my father brought me and the family once or twice. The menu were lutong bahay if I my memory serves me right. I was a college student back then: I brought a date once or twice. That was it. Coming here wasn’t for everyone because it was relatively expensive, though the mango shake was really good!

I think the owner was the same owner of Jomil movie theaters.

Sadly, just like any other, it closed down just before end of the century.

I was lucky enough to get a picture before the structure turned into a stalls.

This entry was posted in Point of View of a Sorsoganon, Sorsogon Dining, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment