Quezon National Park – Atimonan, Quezon (Dec’14)


I am always fond of passing by the Quezon National Park on my way to Sorsogon and vice-versa. I guess I just love driving a winding road, and enjoying its fresh air (unless there’s a diesel-based vehicles infront of you). It also offer a government owned travelers’ stop, which offers enough parking slots for travelers.

Quezon National Park offers enough parking space for motorists.

Quezon National Park offers enough parking space for motorists.

image 11

For those who have kids and haven’t seen a forest, this is a good experience for them. I haven’t tried the mountain trail opposite the stop. My daughter once climb thru the stairs, but didn’t stay for long.

One time, I let my daughter and my sister to pose for the picture. It seems part of the travelers' stop but is not maintained anymore. Still, a good place to enjoy the nature especially for kids.

One time, I let my daughter and my sister to pose for the picture. It seems part of the travelers’ stop but is not maintained anymore. Still, a good place to enjoy the nature especially for kids.

The traveler's stop at the mountain side offers several amenities, including a small resto. Inset: It even offers an outdoor wash area instead of going to the restrooms.

The traveler’s stop at the mountain side offers several amenities, including a small resto. Inset: It even offers an outdoor wash area instead of going to the restrooms.

For those who loves to eat, the resto in the traveler’s stop offers bulalo and other lutong bahay stuff. Even brewed coffee is available – one has to wait though since they only brew the coffee when one is buying. It has clean restrooms and I normally donate 10 to 20 pesos (this is a small price to pay for maintaining a clean restroom).

Quezon National Park offers clean restroom. The author encourages the guests to leave some donations.

Quezon National Park offers clean restroom. The author encourages the guests to leave some donations.

They don’t charge for the cottage formally, but you get embarrassed after using it because somebody cleans it up. I normally leave PHP100 and a separate one to the cleaning lady.

And don’t forget to bring a lot of coins – there are locales who beg for money along the road. Beware, PHP100 worth of coins can run out very fast on the 10-minute mountain drive.  I normally encourage my daughter to pick the old ones.

In my estimate, you don’t save a lot in travel time if you take the mountain road or the normal route. You get to lose more travel time because one tends to buy food or look around.

It’s all worthwhile.

Image | This entry was posted in Tourism, Transportation and Communication and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quezon National Park – Atimonan, Quezon (Dec’14)

  1. Pingback: Tips for Travelers Going to Sorsogon – Semana Santa 2015 | Sorsogon City

Leave a Reply

