Sorsogon governor suspends himself


Governor Raul Lee of Sorsogon provicne. Imave via bicoltoday.com

Sorsogon City – Sorsogon Governor Raul R. Lee requested Vice Governor Antonio H. Escudero to assume as officer-in-charge of the Office of the Provincial Governor during the next 90 days, starting June 1.

Lee requested Escudero to take his post, following the voluntary preventive suspension he had submitted to the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) last Monday after his motion for reconsideration was denied by the Sandiganbayan.

Lee, who ran under the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) party during the 2013 midterm elections, is facing a Criminal Case (SB-11-Crm-0036 to 0039) at the Sandiganbayan for violations of Sec. 3(e) and (g) of Republic Act 3019 pending before the Court’s First Division.

In his letter to Escudero dated May 30, he stated that sometime in May 26, 2014, he wrote a letter to DILG Secretary Manuel Roxas informing him of his voluntary submission to the preventive suspension order for a period of ninety days effective June 1, 2014 to August 29, 2014.

“I personally talked to him about the matter and he advised me to wait for a formal notice of acceptance. I deemed it wise however, not to wait for the formal notice of acceptance and instead, formally relinquish my post to the Vice Governor,” Lee said during the press conference at the Provincial Capitol on Friday.

Original article is posted at Yahoo site on June 1, 2014.

This entry was posted in Government, Politics, sorsogon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorsogon governor suspends himself

  1. RUBY TOLEDO SWAIM says:

    I did not have any idea that the Governor was involved in any graft and corruption charges, I had a formal communication with him years ago about establishing a memorial site of Don Sebastian Mellisa in Dancalan , Donsol, Sorsogon. That time he was trying to improve the tourism in that town where I was born. Don Sebastian Mellisa was the Uncle of my Grandmother, the late Dona Basilia Toledo, wife of the late Don Julian Toledo. The project did not materialized because of funding and his staff were unable to gather more information about the late Gobernadorcilio’s relationship with the Toledos and how he was related with my family. I was about to fund campaign for the realization of his project so to relate the Memorial site with my late Grandmother, Dona Basilia Toledo. His present political status is hard to believe because I have a deep respect for him and his political ambitions. I never had a chance to meet him although I had an appointment for a meeting in his office which never took place. He did a lot of good for Sorsogon City but, the magnitude of his mistakes weighs more than his good records as Governor. GOD help him

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi,

      He’s innocent until proven guilty, as the ideal justice system would have it.

      If you search google, he’s name was tied to a couple of incidents. Though, none of them were proven yet.

      As a Sorsoganon, i’d like to see how this goes – regardless if he’s guilty or not. I think we locales deserve to see a closure.

      Thank you for visiting this site. Yours was the quickest feedback I got right after I repost the article.

      Dios mabalos gihapun tabi!

      SC

    • Ruby T. Swaim says:

      Hello, Thank you for posting my comment and you are right, the Governor is going to have a fair hearing [ I hope so ]. I posted your post on FACEBOOK. GOOD LUCK on your future posts and I’m following your website. Dios mabalos, Ruby Toledo Swaim

  2. Frank DeLeon says:

    Way to go Raul! My primo finally became a 3-month governor. Make lolo proud Kruni.

    Date: Thu, 5 Jun 2014 06:59:16 +0000 To: frankdeleon89@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

