Orosipon: Dino-Mark Bowling Alley(?)


I really can’t remember what’s the exact name of the place, but from what I can remember it’s named after the two Mateo grandsons – Dino and Mark. The bowling center is located along Burgos Street at Brgy. Talisay.

It was a newly built building in the late 80s if my memory serves me right. It offers duckpin bowling facility. There was no automated pinsetters, instead, there were a couple of kids who would slide down the bowling balls and manually set the pins. One had to be observant when throwing the ball, lest the player hits the kid setting up the pins – their legs were the only body part that can be seen from the other end. During the game, these kids would stay on the ball ramp waiting for the turn to be completed.

The former Dino-Mark Bowling Alley, owned by the Mateos. This is a duckpin bowling center, and one of the two bowling centers of the former town of Sorsogon; the other one is Quinto's. Both are located along Burgos Street, Brgy. Talisay and only separated by a couple of hundred meters. The author can't remember when exactly this center closed down, but it's pretty active back in the 80s.

The former Dino-Mark Bowling Alley, owned by the Mateos. This is a duckpin bowling center, and one of the two bowling centers of the former town of Sorsogon; the other one is Quinto’s. Both are located along Burgos Street, Brgy. Talisay and only separated by a couple of hundred meters. The author can’t remember when exactly this center closed down, but it’s pretty active back in the 80s.

I can’t remember exactly how many lanes there were, but it should be more than 5. I remember both my late uncle and my father in-law playing the bowling tourneys. My father would bring me there when he met with friends. I remember playing for a couple of games simply because I had a friend who did and asked me to try it out.

A couple of years before it was closed, the facility deteriorated. I remember one player told me to avoid a particular lane because the floor wasn’t even anymore. I was hard headed to try it anyway – the ball wouldn’t just go straight (I can’t remember if it jumps when it hits a certain area or would go sideways).

It would be interesting if somebody can share why the Mateo family put up a bowling center instead of other facilities.

This entry was posted in Point of View of a Sorsoganon, Structures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

