Robertson’s Department Store and Supermarket c2010


Robertson’s, a department store founded in Camarines Sur, is one of the three department stores in the city – other two are Good Luck Dep’t. Store and Sampaguita Dep’t. Store. Only the other two are still open for business.

Robertson's Department Store a year before it closed, circa Nov'2010

Robertson’s Department Store a year before it closed, circa Nov’2010. It’s located along Rizal Street a few meters from Sts. Peter and Paul Cathedral.

I can’t remember when it opened, but it came after Sampaguita Department Store opened. Before it was just a department store, then it turned its ground floor into supermarket. And it’s the only vendor, at least the only one I knew before LCC Supermarket showed up, accepted credit card.

I can still remember going in to fit Chuck Taylor shoes that I didn’t plan to buy – I was just enjoying the aircon of the department store. The sales lady was very accommodating. I thought I was on another world. I am sure she knew I wasn’t buying anything. Later I found out that I wasn’t the only one doing this.

Admittedly, I prefer to shop on its supermarket due to more varieties compared to the others. Even with the LCC Supermarket around, I still went to Robertson’s.

And just like any other, not all establishments survive.

From what I heard through the grapevine, a Pure Gold will replace it; thus, there’s a construction going on just beside Sorsogon Pilot Elementary School.

This entry was posted in History, Structures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robertson’s Department Store and Supermarket c2010

  1. Shane says:

    Those good old days. Sayang dahil sarado na. I have a lot of memories there. My family used to shop there…and as far as I know, iyan yung pinakasikat na Supermarket sa Sorsogon, Pero dahil may mga nagsulputan na na bago, ayan ang nangyari😦 Madalas din ako tumambay diyan after class (SPES). Memories.

  2. Rex says:

    Ako naman, pag napunta ako sa Sorsogon noon (which is rare dahil taga-Gubat ako), dito ako nakatambay sa supermarket na ito.

    Too sad na closed na pala to.

Leave a Reply

