What Happened to Sorsogon’s Official Web Site???


There was this website – http://www.sorsogontourism.com – that contains information about the different interesting places in Sorsogon province. It was up for a couple of years. Today, I tried visiting it to check the source of my Wikipedia article, it wasn’t there anymore.

This domain, sorsogontourism.com - hosts the information about the province of Sorsogon, including the business plan. For some reason, upon checking by the author, it's gone. Did somebody forget to renew the domain name?

This domain, sorsogontourism.com – hosts the information about the province of Sorsogon, including the business plan. For some reason, upon checking by the author, it’s gone. Did somebody forget to renew the domain name?

Another site, http://www.gotosorsogoncity.com, that I got from the Sorsogon City‘s tourism officer also disappeared. It was still up last December 2012! And she has her own staff. What happened?

The beta site for Sorsogon City also disappeared this year only after a few months the author got it from the city's tourism officer.

The beta site for Sorsogon City also disappeared this year only after a few months the author got it from the city’s tourism officer.

Hosting a website, though not easy, is the cheapest way to send the message to the world. It’s disappointing that whoever owned these sites didn’t continue it. I feel that a website is a force multiplier to entice tourists to visit his beloved province. Not just that, there are hundreds of overseas workers from the province that this is one way of updating them about the province. But the effectiveness can only be as good as the effort being exerted on this endeavor. On one hand, I am not blaming who maintains these websites; based on my experience, it takes more than effort (and several failures) to build the effectiveness of a website. (I actually composed a long 2-article containing my own review of the sorsogontourism.com website including recommendations but was hesitant to post it).

Summer is here and it would’ve been a great opportunity for the local government to showcase the province. I hope they would take a look on how to improve it further.

Sorry, but I have to rant this time – ningas kugon! Sayang talaga!

This entry was posted in Point of View of a Sorsoganon, Technology, Tourism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Happened to Sorsogon’s Official Web Site???

  1. rowena lasala says:

    hi gup pm sir/madam… may i know the number of the provincial tourism officer of Sorsogon? I got the mobile phone of Ms. Racelis on the web pero hindi na po active yung number nya. thanks po

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Let me check, I think I have the email address.

      • Rowena Lasala says:

        thank you sir, we’re going to feature po kasi Sorsogon as our pilot episode sa new travel show ng People’s Network (ch.4), need po kasi namin ng contacts from there… Im Rowena Lasala, Program Researcher po. mas ok po kung email nyo na lang po personally sa akin here’s my email ad rowena_lasala@yahoo.com

  2. sorsogoncity says:

    Hi Ms. Lasala,

    I just realized I was referring to the city tourism officer. Would you still be interested?

    I will also check with my friends in Sorsogon.

    SC

    • Rowena Lasala says:

      Thank you po..kasi this weekend pupunta na po kami ng sorsogon, kaya po i asked ur favor, pasensya na po sa short notice. I still haveo look for contacts din po ng LGU dyan para po ma-advice po sila. Thank you u ulit. God Bless po

      • sorsogoncity says:

        Hi Ms. Lasala,

        Feel free to get in touch with Bobby Gigantone via FB. I am not sure if his the prov’l tourism officer, but I am sure he can refer you to the correct person.

        Sorry, I can’t help you more on this.

        Good luck on your endeavor.

        SC

Leave a Reply

