Cooking Baluko with Seguidilla in Coconut Milk


While checking the freezer for possibilities, I found this bag of Baluko from my last trip to Sorsogon. Then there’s this seguidilla that I remember buying 2 weeks ago. So I decided, ginataang baluko and seguidilla will do for lunch.

I had to ask my wife to call my mother-in-law for advise – the last time I cooked in coconut milk was 3 years ago, and she was the one who taught me how. So I just needed to remember the basic steps.

Here are the steps I took to prepare the ingredients:

  • 15 pcs of baluko – cut into cubes

Cleaning of Baluko

  • approx. 20 pcs of seguidilla – sliced into smaller pieces
  • 2 coconut-worth of coco meat (I almost had a sticker shock since it cost PHP30 a pop in the nearby talipapa!)
  • sliced ginger, onions and garlic –> this is more of guesstimate, and my wife did it for me
  • 5 pieces of green chili –> this is the same chili that you use for sinigang
  1. Clean all sides of sequidilla with water. Ensure that you take out both ends, and this particular strand along its length (it’s a trial and error for me).

    I remember my lola's instruction how to clean the winged beans - cut both ends and normally this particular section connected to either end would come off as well. Finally, ensure that all sides are completely rinsed with water.

  2. Pour hot water on the coconut meat. Squeeze the coco milk from the meat. Keep the first batch of coconut milk on a separate container. You are going to use this later to ensure that there’s consistency on the gata.

    Getting the coco milk the old way. Nowadays, you can buy it straight from the wet market or from a tetrapack in the supermarket.

  3. Pour cold water on the same coconut meat. Squeeze again the coco meat for the remaining coconut milk. This will be the initial batch of coconut milk to be used for cooking. Basically, this is more dilluted than the first batch.
  4. Heat up the pot and pour the second batch of coconut milk. Let it boil, then pour the sliced baluko. Wait until the the balukois cooked. Feel free to add rock salt or generic seasoning (I did the latter).

    After waiting for the coco milk to boil, add the baluko on the pan. Wait 'til it 's a bit cooked before adding the winged beans.

    Amo ini an ginsasabi ninda na naglalana-lana an baluko!

    After waiting for the baluko to be cooked, mix the winged beans (seguidilya) on the pan.

  5. Put the remaining ingredients – chili, ginger, seguidilla, garlic, onion and ginger – on the pot and pour the first batch of coconut milk. Let it boil for 15 minutes or so. In between, you can check if the taste is good enough or add more seasoning or salt.

    I am not sure why you have two batches of coco milk, but I surmise that by having the 1st batch on the reserve makes it more tasty.

  6. Serve in a bowl.

Ginataang baluko, with some assistance from my mother-in-law, is now served.

I underestimated the spiciness of the added chili. However, it was tolerable; I could just imagine (which I thought my wife did) adding the hot siling labuyo!

Apparently, the ginataang baluko doesn't mix well with corned beef. But the fried rice goes pretty well with it!

My wife loved it!  It would been better if there’s a hot steamed rice, but decided to make use of the fried rice from breakfast. Oh well, can’t win them all!

This entry was posted in Culinary Arts, Hobbies, Photography, Point of View of a Sorsoganon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

