Rotary Club sponsors ‘Search for 10 Outstanding Students of Sorsogon’

PIA Press Release
Tuesday, December 13, 2011

by Irma A. Guhit

SORSOGON CITY, Dec 13 (PIA)– Twenty students in the secondary and six students in the tertiary level vied yesterday here at the Sorsogon City Social Hall(SCFH) in the biennial “Search for the Ten Outstanding Students of Sorsogon (TOSS).”

The students were recommended by their corresponding schools based on their academic accomplishments, competitions won (provincial, regional, national, and international ), and the personal profile of each student. These were submitted to the RCMS for final screening, validation, and shortlisting.

Twenty students from the secondary emerged as finalists while six students from the tertiary were qualified for the final interview.

The final selection process for the 10 outstanding students was based on the 70 percent academic/ and extra-curricular school accomplishments while 30 percent was based on the personal interview conducted individually by the five members of the panel of judges.

The criteria for the interview was more on the communication skills, fluency, articulateness, manner of presentation or introduction of the finalist, their potentials, and visions as expressed in their answers.

Members of the board were made to question the finalists and the students were to answer each question within a specified number of minutes.

Seven winners from the secondary emerged as winners with the corresponding ranking: first, Yves Tracy S. Calleja of the Sorsogon National High School; 2nd, Eiza May B. Balaguer of the Holy Spirit Academy of Irosin; 3rd, Megan Joy A. Guela of Bulan National High School; 4th, Julliene L. Valenzuela of St. Louise De Marillac College of Sorsogon; 5th, Franco Avelino Hilotin A. of Magallanes National Vocational High School; 6th Jade Nicholas Fabella of of AG Villaroya Technological Foundation Institute Inc.; and 7th Ruby Jean C. Diaz of the latter school.

The first two top positions in the tertiary level were bagged by the Computer communication Development Institute (CCDI) Melvin John N. Frivaldo and Jason L. Castillo, while and the third place went to Juvylyn I. Giga of Sorsogon State College, Bulan Campus.

RCMS president, Anthony Bravo said that this search for the outstanding students of Sorsogon started two years ago and in support of the month – long celebration of the Sosogon Festival, the founding anniversary of the city of Sorsogon, this search is a fitting gesture to honor students who will lead the way to be emulated as the word “sosogon” connotes.

Members of the board of judges were composed of Gen. Ireneo Manaois, city administrator, Sorsogon City ; Msgr. Gerry del Prado, parish priest of Our Lady of Fatima Parish; Dr. Danilo L. Despi , Sorsogon City Schools Division, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent; Irma A. Guhit; Information Center manager, Philippine Information Agency; and Dr. Jean Paullete Salilima-Go, CHED-RO V Education supervisor II for Communication and Humanities, who served as chair of the panel.

The competition was sponsored by the Rotary Club of Metro Sorsogon (RCMS) in cooperation with four endorsing agencies, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Department of Education (DepEd), National Youth Commission (NYC), and the Philippine Information Agency (PIA) office here.

Original article.

This entry was posted in Education, Events, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s