Convicted former mayor goes to Bilibid


Article | November 24, 2011 – 11:24pm | By Sonny Sales

SORSOGON CITY (Nov. 24, 2011) – A former mayor convicted by the Sandiganbayan of falsification of public document shall serve his sentence at the National Bilibid Prison (NBP) in Muntinlupa City starting this month.

Guillermo “Guaming” Gacis So. 67 years old, former municipal mayor of Matnog, Sorsogon is presently detained at the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) district jail in this city.

A local news group in Sorsogon, “the Media Solutions,” reported that So is confined in a cell separated from hardened criminals. In frail health, he also gets regular visits from his family.

Sandiganbayan convicted So of Falsification of Public Documents when as then municipal mayor he issued Executive Order 08-2002 that suspended Ernesto Gile from public office as Punong Barangay of Laboy, Matnog using a spurious Sangguniang Bayan Resolution 31-03 series of 2002.

According to Sandiganbayan, the Sangguniang Bayan of Matnog did not not pass said resolution.

Sandiganbayan found the existence of the element of Falsification, “considering that herein accused took advantage of his official position, being a municipal Mayor, in issuing the EC on the basis of a resolution which was not duly deliberated and approved by the Sangguniang Bayan of Matnog.”

In a six-page decision penned by Associate Justice Roland Jurado and promulgated Aug. 24 this year, So was sentenced to 8 years imprisonment and fined P5,000. (SONNY SALES)

Original article.

This entry was posted in Crime, News. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Convicted former mayor goes to Bilibid

  1. Guillermo So says:

    That’s my dad. How can I get in contact with him? He knows me by Gerry So.

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi Mr. So,

      I am sorry, I am not the original writer of this article. I just took it from another site. However, let me check if I can get in touch with the writer.

      I will send you a PM regardless what happens.

      SC

    • Dannielle Anne So says:

      Hi kuya Gerry! We saw this message today. I’m Dannielle Anne So, daughter of Guillermo So. We told dad about your message. He was so happy you’ve been looking for him. I have also been searching for you, but I do not know where to begin. You may reach me in this email address: dannielleso@ymail.com

    • Dannielle Anne So says:

      Hi kuya Gerry! We saw this message today. I’m Dannielle Anne So, daughter of Guillermo So. We told dad about your message. He was so happy you’ve been looking for him. I have also been searching for you, but I do not know where to begin. You may reach me in this email address: dannielleso@ymail.com

    • Dannielle Anne So says:

      Hi kuya Gerry! This is Dannielle Anne So, daughter of Guillermo So. Been trying to reply here in your comment several times but I can’t see my post. We just saw this post when my sister was scrolling in google and daddy’s so happy when we told him you’ve also been looking for him. We’ve been trying to search for you and kuya Angelito for years. Please email me at: dannielleso@ymail.com.

      Dan-dan

Leave a Reply

