First ‘Oragon na Pulis Kan Sorsogon Awards’ honors 8 outstanding policemen

by Irma A.Guhit

SORSOGON CITY, October 8 (PIA) — The Sorsoganon Kita Inc. (SKI), Rotary Club of Metro Sorsogon (RCMS) and the Brotherhood of Christian Businessmen and Professionals (BCBP), in cooperation with the Kasanggayahan Foundation Inc (KFI) and the Provincial Government of Sorsogon, held the first awarding ceremony of the “Oragon Na Pulis Kan Sorsogon” (Outstanding Policemen of Sorsogon ) at Casa Dominga last October 6.

Representative Salvador H. Escudero III of the 1st congressional district of Sorsogon, in his keynote message, lauded the organizers the for coming up with the idea of honoring public servants who did well in their chosen field and underscored the importance of the founding anniversary of the province celebrated through the Kasanggayahan Festival yearly to be a venue for honoring outstanding Sorsoganons.

“The awarding of these policemen is a fitting gesture for us people here in Sorsogon to show to the whole nation and to the world that we can be real excellent and that be disciplined in our way of life and become role models to the next generation,” he said.

Eight outstanding policemen were selected out of the thirteen finalists who were recommended by the different police station from the province.

These eight policemen were honored, given plaque of recognition and cash incentives.

Awarded were PO1 Arlinnette J. Ocampo from Sorsogon City Police Station ; SPO2 Edgar A. Calupit of Bulan Municipal Police Station; PO2 Arnold E. Estrellado from the Sorsogon Provincial Public Safety Company ; PO2 Darwin V. Villanueva of the Sorsogon Police Station; PO1 Virgil B. Bibat, Sorsogon Police Station; SPO2 Restituto M. Lojero of Castilla Municipal Police Station; SPO1 Arnel D. Dolorais Sorsogon Police Provincial Station; and PO2 Jerson D. Giba of the Sorsogon Police Station.

Escudero stressed the need to really become best in what we intend to become as a nation and as a people.

He also lauded the president for really trying to make a difference in his governance by eradicating graft and corruption.

The outstanding policemen were joined by their families in a dinner tendered by the organizers attended by several guests to include PNP Provincial Director, PSSupt John CA Jambora, PSupt. Robert Morico II, OIC-CPS , Michael B. Sulit, SKI President, Msgr. Francisco P. Monje of KFI, Col Ireneo Manaois and members of the BCBP, SKI and RCMS.

Members of the Board of Judges in the selection of this year’s Kasanggayahan Festval 2011 outstanding policemen were Reynaldo Hababag of Bayan Muna; Dr Teresita M. Borromeo from the academe; Col. Ireneo Manaois, administrator of Sorsogon City; Mr. Hermes Diaz of BCBP and Dr. Humilde Baranda-Janaban, charter president RCMS.

The “Oragon na Pulis Kan Sorsogon” will now become an award giving body to honor outstanding policemen in the province and will be a yearly activity of the Kasanggayahan Festival according to Msgr. Monje.

“This will set the tone of inspiring people to become best here in the province and people will be our best pride to celebrate the Kasanggayahan Festival, he said. (MAL/IAG, PIA Sorsogon)

Original article.

This entry was posted in Events, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s