The Late Vicente L. Peralta and Late Gen. Carlos P. Romulo


A rare picture of the late Cong. Vicente L. Peralta and Gen. Carlos P. Romulo together. Both heroes on their own rights, both loved by their fellow Filipinos, and both served their country well.

Author’s Note: This is part of the Vicente L. Peralta Series. The picture was shared by Ernestina Peralta, the daughter of the late congressman.

This entry was posted in History, Personalities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Late Vicente L. Peralta and Late Gen. Carlos P. Romulo

  1. Hi Ms. Peralta! We are from the Carlos P. Romulo (CPR) Foundation. May we request for a copy of this photo of your father with CPR for our collection? Do you also have details about this photo, i.e., date it was taken, etc? Thanks!

  2. sorsogoncity says:

    Hi Sir/Madam,

    Sorry, this is not Ms. Peralta, but let me get in touch with her about your request. If you can send an email to sorsogon@live.com, I can refer her to your email address.

    Thanks for the comment.

    SC

  3. Jerome D. DIo says:

    Hi Ms. Peralta! We are from Sorsogon Museum and Heritage Center (SMHC), may we request for a copy of this photo? we will be using this photo for our museum display. And I also want to take this opportunity to ask for more information during his term as a Governor of Sorsogon. We are currently on a project of compiling the “Governors of Sorsogon” as one of the main attraction here in our Museum. Thank you so much & God Bless.
    Mabuhay Sorsogon! =)

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi Sir,

      Let me get in touch with Ms. Peralta and get back to you.

      Salamat.

      SC

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi,

      I just realized that you didn’t put your email address. I was hoping to forward it to Ms. Peralta, just in case she wants to get in touch with you directly.

      Kun puwede mo tabi ako kontakun sa email address ko (sorsogon@live.com), that would be great.

      Salamat tabi,
      SC

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi Sir,

      I got a ‘go’ signal from Ms. Peralta. She can send you the orig picture directly. Otherwise, you can download the original picture from this site.

      Dios mabalos!

      Sorsogon City

    • Tina Peralta says:

      Dear Mr Dio.
      I know so little about the time my father, Congressman Vicente L. Peralta was acting Governor of Sorsogon. But here is what I know.

      After the liberation of Sorsogon from Japanese occupation on April 29, 1945, the position of Provincial Governor of Sorsogon was vacant. The then Executive Secretary of President Sergio Osmeña, Jose S. Reyes of Bulusan, asked his brother, Dominador (Domen) S. Reyes to recommend a candidate for the position. Domen recommended my father, who was a young lawyer then and was already making a mark on Sorsogon politics. The two were classmates at the Sorsogon Provincial High School. My father was governor for a few months until elections could be organized and held the following year in 1946. In that election, my father ran against the very popular guerilla leader, Salvador “Gurang” Escudero and predictably lost. My father tried again in 1952, I believe, and lost again. My Lolo Pepe Berenguer suggested he run for Congress instead as he will never beat Gurang. Being a reasonable and realistic person, my father instead ran against Congressman Clemente in 1953 for the Third Congress and won. Congressman Peralta was the Representative of the Second District of Sorsogon (now the First District) from 1954 to 1968 when he died in office on June 13, 1968.

      As for his work and achievements during his short tenure as Governor of Sorsogon, I do not have any clue at all but since they were very chaotic times, it is probably safe to assume that the first things he did was to make order in the Province of Sorsogon and to help the citizens get back their lives as best he can considering the constraints and short resources of the times.

      In 1949, Peralta was appointed and sent by Senator Teodoro de Vera and Congressman Tomas Clemente as Technical Assistant of the Philippine Mission to the United Nations where this picture of my father with General Carlos P. Romulo was taken. Lake Success was the temporary home of the United Nations from 1946 to 1951.

      When this picture was taken, General Carlos P. Romulo was the serving President of the Fourth Session of United Nations General Assembly and chairman of the United Nations Security Council.

      I hope this helps
      sincerely,
      tina berenguer peralta

  4. bing batalla says:

    HI, I am one of Congressman Vicente Peralta’s granddaughter through Trinidad Peralta Pineda (her eldest sister) i’d like to be in touch with Tita Tina, (as how my mum calls her)

  5. Tina Peralta says:

    Dear Maenard
    Thank you very much for all your attentiveness and dependability in keeping everyone informed. Really appreciate it. I hope that Mr Dio sees my reply here in your site. I am anyway sending him a hard copy of the picture and this little narrative about my father. Hope it reaches him on time for his exhibit. Mabalos and take care. Hope the typhoon did not hurt anyone or anything. tbp.

  6. Hi!

    I am Grace Peralta and our great grandparents where actually from Sorsogon. I am actually doing a research regarding our family genealogy. I was actually informed by my Lola Tess that we are actually related to Cong. Vicente Peralta. My great grandfather is Gregorio Paterno Peralta Sr., and is married to Milagros De Lara Idian.

    Can you please send me the e-mail address of Ms. Tina Peralta? And also can you please give me possible guides,references or offices where I can get results for my research.

    Thanks! Hope to here from you soon.

  7. tina says:

    Hello Grace
    Maenard sent me your email to him. My email is [edited]. I wrote you a few weeks ago actually directly. Maybe you did not receive it. I hope you see this reply of mine. Would like very much to know how we are related so I can put you in the Family Tree. God Bless you and your family. tina.

Leave a Reply

