Exploring Sorsogon – Gimaloto-Barayong Bailey Bridge


Bailey Bridge in Bgry. Gimaloto and Barayong.

I didn’t know what to call those metal, narrow bridges in the barrios. Then, I read several articles about Bailey Bridge; I even read, though I can’t find it anymore, that it was designed by a Filipino back in the 20s – apparently not.

But during my hike along the Cawayan river, I encountered a Bailey Bridge, albeit not exactly the original,  connecting the banks of Brgys. Gimaloto and Barayong!

Another find for me!

This entry was posted in City Sights, Hobbies, Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring Sorsogon – Gimaloto-Barayong Bailey Bridge

  1. Patrick says:

    The bridge on the photo is a “new version”. A real baileybridge is has only 5 feet ( 1,5 m ) height. But the system is almost identical. The website http://www.baileybrug.info shows the “original” bailey bridges.

Leave a Reply

