Sts. Peter and Paul Cathedral – The Apostles


While growing up, I really thought that this is the facade of the cathedral. Apparently not. However, back then, we would get off the tricycle in this area (there was still a Petron gas station on the corner of Magsaysay and De Vera Sts.) or near Pilot school.

During the late ’80s or early ’90s, new commercial buildings were built beside the apostles. At first, I really didn’t care; but now, I realized that young ones couldn’t appreciate the site of the cathedral anymore.

The apostles, surrounded by commercial buildings.

This entry was posted in City Sights, Point of View of a Sorsoganon, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sts. Peter and Paul Cathedral – The Apostles

  1. john says:

    Hi! It is nice to know that someone is actively promoting Sorsogon. I am from Manila who lived in Sorsogon in the early 70s. I have a lot of fond memories of the place. I remember the gas station, that was beside the Nicolas residence.

    • sorsogoncity says:

      Hi John,

      If you have information or stories about Sorsogon, I would like to find out. I started the Orisipon series. I can put your stories under this, if you are interested.

      The gasoline station that you are referring to, it was a Petron. I grew up with that station being there. Less than 5 years back, if my memory serves me right, it was demolished. I am assuming that the lease expired. Now, it has these mobile phone stores and other RTWs.

      Hmmm… This might actually be another article for Orosipon

  2. ricky enorme says:

    me and my friend did the painting of the bas-relief of the 2 saints,t’was 1996 or 97 i’m 20 back then and my friend/mentor was 82 years old.he got the contract for 15k and payed me 200 pesos per day plus all expenses paid,not bad 16 years ago.if i remember it right we did it in 6 or 7 days time…

  3. jay says:

    Do you know the historical background of Sts. Peter and Paul here in Sorsogon? When it was built? and who were the people behind the construction?

Leave a Reply

