Official candidates for 2010 polls in Sorsogon out

by Bennie A. Recebido

Sorsogon Province (December 17) — The list of official local candidates in this province for the May 2010 national and local polls was finally made public by the Commission on Election (Comelec) provincial office here. Comelec record showed that six has filed their Certificate of Candidacy (CoC) for the gubernatorial slate with former Gov. Raul Lee, and incumbent Sorsogon 2nd District Congressman Jose Solis, Amadeo Brin, Ramon Gallinera, Felizardo Garil and Antonio Imperial composing the list.

Incumbent Governor Sally Lee withdrew her candidacy to give way to her husband Raul.

Six candidates are also running for vice governor, including former Bulan town Mayor Guillermo De Castro, incumbent Sorsogon 1st District Board Member Rosario Diaz, former Vice Governor Antonio Escudero, Jr., former Sta. Magdalena Mayor Nida Gamos and Mirafe Godisan.

Nineteen candidates are vying for the provincial board in the first congressional district, while seventeen contenders for the second district.

Former Casiguran town Mayor Edwin Hamor will be running against incumbent Congressman Salvador Escudero III for Representative of the first congressional district.

Six candidates namely incumbent Sorsogon 2nd District Board Member Arze Glipo, incumbent Bulusan Mayor Juan Guysayko, Flocerfida de Guzman, Edmundo Escalante, Rosario Gavanzo and Ricardo Golpeo signified their intention to run in the second congressional district.

Former allies and both incumbent Mayor Leovic Dioneda and Vice Mayor Edmundo Atutubo will vie for the top position in Sorsogon City.

On the other hand, Robert Ante Lee Rodrigueza, son of Governor Lee, goes against incumbent City Councilor Roel Sta. Ana for the vie mayoralty race.

Atty. Calixto L. Aquino, Jr., Comelec Sorsogon supervisor, meanwhile said Sorsogon City has registered the highest voters’ registration turnout with 83,829, followed by Bulan, 46,125; Pilar, 37,924; and Gubat with 29,816. Sta Magdalena comes last with 9,831 voting population.

“With the recent withdrawal of one mayoralty candidate in Prieto Diaz, the total number of candidates in the province that filed their CoCs lowered down to 601.

The province has 395,371 registered and qualified voters for May 2010 elections.

Sorsogon province is composed of fourteen towns and one city. It has 2,503 established voting precincts in its 541 barangays. (PIA Sorsogon)

Note: Original news article can be found here.

LiveJournal Tags: ,
This entry was posted in Government, News, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s